New York Albany

Regional Coordinator: Diane Bertok

About Us

The Capital District Region Future City Competition (Albany, NY) is part of the DiscoverE Future City Competition, held each year in Washington, DC in February. Including the Capital District Region, there are 38 regional competitions across the country and seven international regions in Canada, China, and the Middle East that compete in the program. The Future City Competition is recognized by the education and engineering communities as one of the nation's leading programs for enabling students to make the connection between math and science to engineering through its real-world applications. This year's competition will be held virtually due to concerns from COVID-19. 

The regional competition, now in it's 20th year locally, is entirely volunteer organized with tremendous support from local engineering/technology professionals, businesses and organizations. Through this community support, including over 80 corporate sponsors and 100 volunteers, we are able to share engineering and technology with over 400 students each year.

About The Capital District Region Future City Competition (Albany, NY)
The Capital District Future City Competition is an educational program for middle school students (6th, 7th and 8th graders) to use their creative an innovative imaginations to design a city of the future. The students work with their teacher coach and an engineer-volunteer mentor from the community to design and build the city. The students apply math, science, engineering and technology, as well as enhance their writing and presentation skills, through this project.

The Official Team this year will consist of the three students who represent the team in the recorded video presentation with their teacher/educator and engineer mentor. These three students DO NOT have to be the same three students who represent the team in the live Q&A. Teams will still compete for locally sponsored specialty awards and prizes as well as the Regional Title. The winner of the Regional Competition will compete in the National Competition, which will also be held virtually this year in April 2021. Last year's local awards and prizes totaled over $7,500.

About the National Future City Competition
The Future City Competition, for sixth, seventh and eighth grade students, is held from September, 2020 through April, 2021. The National Future City Competition is sponsored in part by DiscoverE (formally known as the National Engineers Week Foundation), a consortium of professional and technical societies and major U.S. corporations. Major funding comes from Bentley Systems, Bechtel, Shell, NCEES, and UL. For more information, visit

About Engineers Week
DiscoverE, a formal coalition of more than 100 professional societies, major corporations and government agencies, is dedicated to ensuring a diverse and well-educated future engineering workforce by increasing understanding of and interest in engineering and technology careers among young students and by promoting pre-college literacy in math and science. Engineers Week also raises public understanding and appreciation of engineers' contributions to society. Founded in 1951, it is among the oldest of America's professional outreach efforts.